Costume Envy-Marie Antionette

I love costumes and fabrics.  Rich silks, sumptuous brocades; folk styles, characters, I drink it in.  That’s why I was captivated by the movie Marie Antionette-you know, the strange 80’s soundtracked Sophia Coppola flick.  The film is barely strung together with a plot, rather it’s held together with thread.  For an entire two hours, I felt like I was watching a documentary love letter to French fashion and excess.  Most of the  movie budget I’m sure went to costumes.  I don’t think Kiersten Dunst wore the same frock twice-and she wore a lot of frocks.  Here are some of my favorites:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nessa
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 02:43:43

    I want to make hundreds of historical gowns. I might start taking classes at a fashion institute in the fall. I would call it research for my book, but really, I just want to! I don’t have the time to do a whole program, sadly, but I’d love to do one class a semester.

    Reply

    • heavenscribe
      Jun 06, 2012 @ 10:38:43

      Please do! Have you ever read anything by Elizabeth Bunce? She has a website where she talks about her love of costume and writing. It’s really cool. I recommend you start with “A Curse Dark as Gold.” It’s a Rumplestiltsken retelling. You’ll have to tell me more about this book you’re writing. By the way, if you’ve never watched Marie Antionette, you can watch it free on Hulu. That’s what I did.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

